- Dakotafire - https://dakotafire.net -

Dakotafire leadership earns national recognition

Dakotafire Media staffers were among five South Dakotans recognized in the National Federation of Press Women Communications Contest.

Published works by Dakotafire Publisher and Editor-in-Chief Heidi Marttila-Losure and Managing Editor Wendy Royston were five of 17 entries forwarded from the South Dakota Press Women contest earlier in the year, after earning first place finishes in that contest.

Wendy Royston, Managing Editor Dakotafire Media [1]

Wendy Royston, Managing Editor
Dakotafire Media

Managing Editor Wendy Royston:

Publisher and Editor-in-Chief Heidi Marttila-Losure:

Heidi Marttila-Losure, Publisher, Dakotafire Media [6]

Heidi Marttila-Losure, Publisher, Dakotafire Media

NFPW is a nationwide organization of women and men pursuing careers across the communications spectrum, including print and electronic journalism, freelancing, new media, books, public relations, marketing, graphic design, photography, advertising, radio and television.

A total of 349 entrants from across the country received awards for excellence in communications. A distinguished group of professional journalists, communications specialists and educators judged 540 entries in a wide variety of categories. Only first-place winning entries at the state affiliate level are eligible to enter the national contest. SDPW members submitted a total of 18 entries into the contest, with eight earning awards at the national level. All entries were published or broadcast between Jan. 1 and Dec. 31, 2015.